This is my truth

If I could have anything I wanted this year for my birthday – wrap it up and tie it in a bow- the only thing I would ask for… is you.

I would ask for those kisses you lay on my shoulder while you think I’m asleep. I would ask for your smell on my pillow every morning when I wake.

I would ask for those eyes that look like the sea stare into mine at 3 am. I would ask for your arms to pull me closer to you as I fall asleep.

I would ask for those innocent words spoken in your sleep. I would ask for your hands to make me coffee and eggs in the morning before work.

I would ask for you to love me all of your days.

I will love you forever without knowing how or why. I love you knowing that you’ll only give it in small doses of whiskey before the sun rises and I whisper against your lips over and over: I love you, I love you, I love you.

Leave a Reply

