Become a better writer

This is the year that I become a better writer. What about you? Do you wish you were a better writer?

I love writing. Its a way to express myself. It’s a way to understand myself. Sometimes I don’t even know what I am thinking until I write it all out. I can’t stop thinking until I write to clear my head. As soon as it is all out… I feel normal again. I feel like the world isn’t falling apart.

Pablo Picasso
“Inspiration exists, but it has to find you working.” Pablo Picasso

To become a better writer, you have to write. You have to sit down and write. You have to show up. If you don’t sit your butt down how are you supposed to be creative?

So this year… I will be a better writer by showing up… by sitting down in front of the computer and writing 500 words a day (or more) for the next 31 days. It sounds simple. It sounds easy.

500 words take about 30 minutes to an hour to write. I think I can set aside that much time to improve myself. Then again, if I look ahead to the coming days I know a few of them are going to be difficult. I know that a few days I won’t even be home. That’s the beauty of today’s electronics. All you need is your cell phone and you have a way to write.

There are a few rules…. 500 words a day. That one is simple. The other rule is not to beat myself up if I do miss a day. Because the less you beat yourself up–the better you will be about keeping up a habit.

What about you? Are you willing to take the risk to become a better writer?

Leave a Reply

