I am

I am the stars
lost in the vast galaxy-
made up of constellations-
my history in the telling.

I am the moon
constantly circling the earth
pulled by the ebb and flow.
Confident that I will keep spinning.

I am afraid of my softness-
that my heart full of fluff-
will spill out of my ears
and into the hands
of someone who would relish in the
burning of my heart.
Ripping me to shreds.
Fire on my skin
to destroy my fluff.

I am the love goddess of the sea.
Flora floating between my red fingertips.

I am calm like the ocean
and just as scary. Riptides
threatening to pull you under
to let you drown in my heart.

– Katherine Orr

Leave a Reply

