Summer Reading List

The book that started it all for me this summer. I wasn't really reading until I picked up this book.
The book that started it all for me this summer. I wasn’t really reading until I picked up this book.

There’s only a few weeks of summer left. Although some people are going back to school already, the unofficial end of summer isn’t until labor day.

Recently I got back into reading– surprisingly enough it was a movie that inspired me. I wanted to watch The Fault in Our Stars, but I wanted to read the book first. I downloaded it onto to my kindle… and I haven’t really stopped reading since.

I am not going to sugar coat it. I honestly didn’t think it was an amazing book. It was sweet, but predictable.

Yet this sweet, sappy book got me reading again. To make sure I don’t step reading any time soon, here is my list of “summer reading” that I hope inspires someone to pick up a book.

Five Books I Hope to Read this Summer

  1. Looking for Alaska by John Green. John Green has a wonder way with words (as you can tell by the following behind The Fault in Our Stars)
  2. The Divine Comedy: Inferno; Purgatorio; Paradiso by Dante. This one has been on my list for years. I know that I will probably never read it.. but the English Major in me knows that I really should read it.
  3. The Dante Club: A Novel by Matthew Pearl. A crime story about a series of murders inspired by Dante’s inferno in 1865.
  4. Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep? by Philip K. Dick. Now this one just seems awesome. Blade Runner was loosely based on this dystopian novel. Heck yeah.
  5. Where the Heart Is by Billie Letts. This seems like a book with a lot more heart than the movie based on it.

In the next month I know there is no way I can read all five of these books… but it is always fun hoping.

What book do you plan on reading this month?

Leave a Reply

